compiled by Charlie Camino, Christopher Ferris, and Marc "Sparky" Schmalz, 
with assistance from Adam Conus, Eric Gum, Rich Redman, JD Wiker, and Tom 

Q: Who designed HomelandsTM?
A: Kyle Namvar and Scott "Scooter" Hungerford are the creators. Full credits 
were published on p. 13 of Duelist #7.

Q: What is the Homelands expansion symbol supposed to be?
A: It's a globe representing the world of Ulgrotha, the setting for Homelands.

Q: Does Didgeridoo let me bring an Anaba Bodyguard into play?
A: No. Didgeridoo states that it will let you bring minotaurs into play. 
Anaba Bodyguard is a "Summon Bodyguard" card, not a "Summon Minotaur" card.

Q: Can Abbey Matron use its ability to give other creatures a +0/+3 bonus?
A: No. That ability only works on the Abbey Matron since the description of 
the ability doesn't mention a target.

Q: An-Zerrin Ruins affects creatures of a certain type. What is a valid 
creature type for An-Zerrin Ruins?
A: Anything following the word "Summon" on the card type is a valid type. 
Choosing "Rat" would affect Bog Rats, Pestilence Rats, and Plague Rats since 
they are all "Summon Rat" cards. Choosing "Spirit," on the other hand, is not 
enough to affect Blinking Spirit since it is a "Summon Blinking Spirit" card 
and not a "Summon Spirit" card. Plurals of a creature type are also affected, 
so if you choose "Goblin," neither "Summon Goblin" nor "Summon Goblins" cards 
would untap. Currently, the only exception to this general rule is that 
choosing "Legend" would affect both "Summon Legend" and "Summon Elder Dragon 
Legend" cards because "Summon Elder Dragon Legends" cards, through errata, 
are now referred to as "Summon Legend" cards. You can't use other descriptive 
words with An-Zerrin Ruins--for example, colors of cards, special abilities, 
"artifact," and "land"--because these aren't summon types.

Q: Who controls the Shadow token created by Broken Visage?
A: Regardless of who controlled the target creature that was buried, the 
player casting Broken Visage controls the Shadow token.

Q Chain Stasis taps or untaps a target creature, and the controller of that 
creature can pay [2][Blue] to tap or untap an additional creature. After 
Chain Stasis has been cast, can I use Ley Druid to help generate the mana I 
need to untap additional creatures with Chain Stasis?
A: No. Chain Stasis will allow you to use interrupts that directly generate 
mana, and that's all. This includes tapping cards to produce mana and casting 
Dark Ritual, but does not include untapping land. Since the Ley Druid doesn't 
directly produce mana, you cannot use its ability to generate mana for Chain 

Q: How much mana does it cost me to Spell Blast my opponent's Holy Strength 
when I have Irini Sengir (white enchantments and green enchantments each cost 
an additional [2] to cast) in play?
A: Irini Sengir (like Gloom) imposes an additional cost to the caster of 
spells without changing the actual casting cost on the card. This means that, 
despite the caster having to pay an additional [2] it would still only cost 
[1][Blue] to Spell Blast the Holy Strength, as the casting cost of Holy 
Strength is still just [White] (not [2][White]).

Q: If my opponent and I both have Sengir Autocrats in play, when one of them 
leaves play, whose Serf tokens are buried?
A: Any time any Sengir Autocrat leaves play, bury all Serf tokens, no matter 
who controls them or whose Sengir Autocrat produced them. Likewise, when 
Drudge Spell leaves play, all Skeleton tokens are buried.

Q: If my opponent attacks with her Grizzly Bears, and I play Shrink (-5/-0 
until end of turn) on it, are her Grizzly Bears 0/2 or -3/2? If later in the 
turn my opponent plays Giant Growth on the Bears, what is the creature's 
power and toughness?
A: The creature is -3/2, but any time a creature has a negative power, you 
simply treat it as 0 for all purposes except modifying its power. If Grizzly 
Bears has Giant Growth (+3/+3 until end of turn) cast on it later, it would 
be 0/5.

Q: I tap my Aysen Bureaucrats to tap my opponent's Dragon Whelp. My opponent 
responds to this fast effect by pumping up the Dragon Whelp's power to 
greater than 2. Does the Dragon Whelp become tapped?
A: No. Remember, fast effects resolve "last in, first out," and the target of 
the effect must be a legal target, both when the effect is declared and when 
it resolves. If a spell or card is not a legal target when the effect is 
declared, the effect cannot target it. If it is an illegal target when the 
effect resolves, the effect simply fizzles with regard to that target.

Q: If I target a green creature with Terror and my opponent responds by using 
the ability of the Willow Priestess ([2][Green] : Target green creature gains 
protection from black until end of turn), will the Terror work?
A: No. Again, spells fizzle if they do not have a valid target when they're 
declared and when they resolve. In this case, when Terror resolves, it's 
targeting a creature with protection from black. Since creatures with 
protection from black cannot be targeted by black spells, Terror fizzles.

Q: My opponent has Æther Storm in play, and I want to cast a summon spell, 
so I say I'm going to pay 4 life to bury Æther Storm. My opponent responds 
to this by using Boomerang to return Æther Storm to her hand. When the 
effects resolve "last in, first out," the Æther Storm returns to my 
opponent's hand before my effect can destroy it. Do I still lose the life?
A: Unfortunately for you, yes. Paying 4 life to bury Æther Storm is a cost 
that was paid as soon as you declared the effect. Just like mana spent on a 
spell that is countered, you can't get the life back even though the effect 
fizzles. If you respond to Boomerang by spending another 4 life to bury 
Æther Storm, your last destruction effect will resolve before Boomerang, but 
you will have spent a total of 8 life.

Q: For Giant Albatross, when do I pay the cost to bury creatures that damaged 
A: The effect of Giant Albatross is a triggered effect. The last sentence on 
the card explains that the only time you can use the effect is when Giant 
Albatross is "put into the graveyard from play." Going to the graveyard 
triggers the ability, and you must pay the [1][Blue] then, or you cannot use 
the ability.

Q: If my opponent controls one of the Homelands "multilands" such as An-Havva 
Township and I control a Fellwar Stone, what colors of mana can the Fellwar 
Stone produce?
A: Your Fellwar Stone is capable of producing all the types of mana that your 
opponent's multiland can produce, including colorless mana.

Q: I control An-Havva Township while Mana Flare is in play. If I spend o2 and 
tap the land to get oR, will Mana Flare force it to produce a second point of 
A: Yes. If a land is producing mana, Mana Flare causes one more of the 
appropriate color to be added, no matter the activation cost or whether the 
land could produce other types; Mana Flare just duplicates the type produced.

Q: With Retribution, when does my opponent have to choose which creature is 
destroyed and which gets a -1/-1 counter?
A: All choices concerning a spell's targets are made when the spell is 
played, even if the opponent is choosing the targets; therefore, when you 
play Retribution, you choose the two targets and your opponent chooses which 
one will be destroyed and which one will get a -1/-1 counter.

Q: If I enchant Autumn Willow with Instill Energy, will the enchantment 
disappear at the end of the turn since the card cannot be the target of 
spells or effects unless I spend [Green]?
A: Once Instill Energy has resolved, it is a permanent (a creature 
enchantment) and is therefore unaffected by Autumn Willow's ability. When 
Instill Energy is cast, though, before it resolves, it is still considered a 
spell, and Autumn Willow's controller must spend [Green] in order for Autumn 
Willow to be a legal target.

© 2009 Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a division of Hasbro, Inc. All rights