Q: If I have a spell that says "Draw a card at the beginning of the next 
turn's upkeep," and that spell is countered, do I still get to draw a card?
A: No. And if the spell has a target, you don't get to draw a card if the 
spell fizzles because its target disappears or becomes illegal.

Q: What is cumulative upkeep?

A: Cumulative upkeep is an upkeep cost paid only during the permanent's 
controller's upkeep phase. During the first upkeep phase in which a card with 
cumulative upkeep is in play, pay the cost listed. During the second upkeep, 
pay twice the listed cost; during the third upkeep, pay three times the 
listed cost; and so on. If you cannot pay or choose not to pay the cost, the 
card is buried. The upkeep cost does not "reset" if control of the permanent 

Q: Can I use Phantasmal Terrain to change a snow-covered land to a 
non-snow-covered land, or vice versa?
A: No. Effects which change basic lands will not change whether a land is 
snow-covered. Spells with effects which only change a land's type (such as 
Conversion, Gaea's Liege, and Phantasmal Terrain) will not change whether a 
land is snow-covered.

Q: Can Land Tax retrieve snow-covered lands from my library?
A: Effects such as Land Tax, Nature's Lore, and Untamed Wilds can retrieve 
snow-covered lands from the library.

Q: Can Magical Hack add or remove the phrase "snow-covered"?
A: No.

Q: Can Arcum's Weathervane target multilands (such as Taiga)?
A: Not to make them snow-covered, but if a multiland happens to become 
snow-covered in another way, Arcum's Weathervane can make the land 

Q: So if I make a non-basic land snow-covered, is it now considered a basic 
A: No.

Q: Is an islandwalking creature unblockable when my opponent controls a 
snow-covered island?
A: Yes, but a creature with snow-covered islandwalk wouldn't be able to 
"walk" through a non-snow-covered island.

Q: Are snow-covered mountains affected by spells or abilities that affect 
A: Yes, but non-snow-covered mountains are not affected by spells or 
abilities that affect snow-covered mountains.

Q: Can I search for a multiland that counts as a forest, such as Tropical 
Island, with Nature's Lore?
A: Yes.

Q: Will Ice Floe work on tapped creatures?
A: Yes. Ice Floe targets a "creature without flying that is attacking you." 
Tapping is an effect of Ice Floe, not a targeting requirement.

Q: Does Ice Floe stop an attacker from dealing damage?
A: No--Ice Floe does not prevent the creature from attacking or dealing 
damage. Ice Floe simply "prevents" it from attacking or dealing damage in the 
future by keeping it tapped and unable to attack.

Q: If a Prodigal Sorcerer is tapped to deal a point of damage, can I use Ice 
Floe to keep it from untapping?
A: No. Prodigal Sorcerer simply has a special ability that deals damage. An 
"attacking" creature is any creature declared as an attacker during combat.

Q: How do I pay for Meteor Shower?
A: Meteor Shower costs X ManaX ManaRed Mana and does "X+1" damage. Let's say 
you want to do 4 damage. Since the spell lets you do X+1 damage, X is 3 
(3+1=4). Now that we know what X is, we can determine the casting cost, which 
is X Mana+X Mana+Red Mana. Put the value of X into both of the places X 
appears and you get a casting cost of 3 Mana+3 Mana+Red Mana, or 6 ManaRed 
Mana, or six colorless mana and one red mana.

Q: Lava Burst says that effects "that prevent or redirect damage cannot be 
used to protect that creature," but Lava Burst can also target players. Can 
players prevent or redirect damage from Lava Burst?
A: Yes. Only damage dealt to creatures may not be prevented or redirected. 
Note that effects which reduce damage to 0, such as the effects of Prismatic 
Ward, Bronze Horse, and protection from a color, function automatically and 
would reduce damage from Lava Burst to 0.

Q: Is there any way to play Demonic Consultation on my opponent?
A: No. Demonic Consultation doesn't mention a "target" so it cannot affect 
anyone but the caster and cannot be retargeted by any means.

Q: Can you use Deflection to make a spell target itself?
A: Yes, and this will usually result in the spell fizzling. If you deflect a 
spell to itself, by the time the deflected spell resolves it will no longer 
be a valid target for itself (it will no longer be a spell being cast). For 
instance, Countersp ell will fizzle if it targets itself (by the time it 
resolves it's no longer a spell being cast). In the same way, a Mana Drain 
deflected to itself would fizzle and not yield any mana.

Q: Can you use Deflection to make a Red Elemental Blast target the Deflection 
you're casting?
A: No. At the time you have to declare the new target for the Red Elemental 
Blast, the Deflection is not yet being cast (the target is still being 
selected), so it isn't a valid target.

Q: Kjeldoran Dead states that when it comes into play, I have to sacrifice a 
creature. What if there are no creatures in play when I summon the Dead?
A: If Kjeldoran Dead is the only creature in play when you summon it, you 
have to sacrifice the Kjeldoran Dead as soon as it comes into play.

Q: Hecatomb states that I have to sacrifice four creatures when it comes into 
play. What happens if I don't have four creatures when it resolves?
A: Hecatomb is immediately buried. Note that even if you do have four 
creatures in play, you can choose not to sacrifice them and Hecatomb will go 
to the graveyard. This should be treated as card errata.

Q: Will Ray of Command let me attack outside of my own attack phase or attack 
with walls?
A: No. Effects such as Ray of Command or Touch of Vitae that allow a creature 
to attack generally only let a creature ignore summoning sickness. For 
example, the ability of Walking Wall (3 Mana: Walking Wall gets +3/-1 until 
end of turn and can attack this turn) allows the Wall to attack in spite of 
being a wall--it doesn't allow Walking Wall to attack if it's tapped or 
otherwise unable to attack. A creature you control can only attack during 
your attack phase, which can only be during your main phase.

Q: Can I return Foul Familiar to my hand when it's in my graveyard?
A: No. If a card's effect can be used from the graveyard, the card will 
specifically say so.

Q: If I Chaoslace Justice to make it red, does this cause an infinite damage 
A: No. Justice states "Whenever a red creature or spell does damage, Justice 
deals an equal amount of damage to the controller of that creature or spell." 
Justice is an enchantment, which is neither a creature nor a spell after it 
has resolved.

Q: How does Ice Cauldron work?
A: The basic nature of Ice Cauldron is this: you can use it to store both a 
spell from your hand and the mana needed to pay for that spell. After the 
spell has been stored on the Cauldron, you can play the spell as if it were 
in your hand. This mea ns that you must follow all normal timing rules, 
targeting rules, and so on. Typically, you will tap the Cauldron for the mana 
you stored in it before playing the spell.

When you use the first ability of the Cauldron, you choose a spell in your 
hand and pay some X (which can be zero). When the effect resolves, you put 
that spell "on" the Cauldron, and store a charge counter of X on the 
Cauldron. The spell stored this way is not considered in your hand or in 
play; it is in a sort of limbo, not unlike a creature affected by Tawnos's 
Coffin. You can play this spell later, whenever appropriate, regardless of 
whether the Cauldron is tapped and regardless of whether you control the 
Cauldron. (The fact that you put the spell on the Cauldron, which makes you 
the person who can play the spell, does not change after the Cauldron is 
used, regardless of who controls the Cauldron).

If the "storing" effect of Ice Cauldron is countered (say by Brown Ouphe), 
then the mana is lost but the card is kept in your hand. You can only put the 
spell and charge counter on the Cauldron if there is not a charge counter on 
it already. Spells stor ed in the Cauldron are not actually considered to be 
in your hand, so they aren't counted for Ivory Tower or Black Vise, you can't 
be forced to discard them by Hymn to Tourach, etc.

The second ability of the Cauldron is to put the mana you stored in it back 
into your pool. This mana can only be used to play the card you chose when 
you put the charge counter on the Cauldron; if you put the mana in your mana 
pool and do not use it fo r that purpose, you'll suffer mana burn from it. 
Note that if you steal the Cauldron, you can remove the charge counter (and 
get mana burned) so that you can use the Cauldron later. Also, mana is not 
drawn from the Cauldron at the speed of an interrupt, so if you store a 
Counterspell or other interrupt in the Cauldron, you will typically want to 
find mana sources other than the charge counter to pay for that spell.

Changing the Cauldron's controller will not affect the spells stored on it; 
the player who stored a given spell on it can still play that spell. Removing 
the Cauldron from play causes any and all spells stored on it to be placed in 
the graveyard; this sh ould be treated as card errata.

Any number of spells can be stored on the Cauldron at any given time, as long 
as you remove each charge counter before storing another spell. You must 
still play these spells individually, not simultaneously.

Q: Does this mean Ice Cauldron will let me cast a Fireball on my opponent's 
A: No. The card specifically states that you have to play the spell on the 
Ice Cauldron as if it were in your hand. This means that you cannot cast a 
spell when it would not otherwise be valid.

Q: Can I "pump" more than one mana into my Grizzled Wolverine in a single use?
A: No. Only one mana can be spent on this ability each turn.

Q: I have Enduring Renewal in play and an artifact animated by Titania's Song 
is destroyed. Does it come back to my hand?
A: Yes. Any card which is a creature when it goes to the graveyard will come 
back to your hand even if it isn't normally a creature. Note that token 
creatures disappear if they leave play and would not go to your hand.

© 1995-2009 Wizards of the Coast LLC, a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc. All 
Rights Reserved.